On this page of our Ghost of Tsushima game guide you will find information about saves in the game - when the game saves your progress and whether you can make a manual save in order to protect yourself from making any bad decision.
Ghost of Tsushima has a manual save feature. You can manually save the game after pausing the gameplay. There are various save slots available, so you don't have to worry about overwriting the previous save.
In the pause menu you can also find an option which allows you to return to the previous checkpoint. It can be useful, for example, if you get stuck during a more extensive climb sequence or lose your way completely when following some footprints.
Relying on manual saves is not mandatory, as the game regularly creates automatic saves, and this is done without your participation. This feature (creation of auto-save) is indicated by a notification on the top right corner of the screen. The game can create a new auto-save after entering a new location, completing a mission objective, finding a secret, and in other similar cases.
In Ghost of Tsushima, you don't have to use manual saves at all, because there are no important decisions to make in the game that may have serious consequences. You don't have to worry about not being able to complete a quest. If you have died several times in a row in a specific location, then the game can offer a lower difficulty level. After the hero gets resurrected, you can also get some resolve.
The only major choice you have to make is the associated with the game's finale. We strongly advise you to make a manual save before making the final end-game decision. This will allow you to watch both endings without having to repeat the entire game - check out the game endings section for more information.